The Data view of every Authorea article contains all its content: text, data, images, citations. You should never delete files from the Data view unless you know what you are doing but if you accidentally delete a file, it will disappear from the article (every article is just a rendered version of all the files indicated in the layout.md .

So what can you do? Luckily, Authorea stores every change to your articles to a Git repository. So, if you accidentally deleted a file, navigate to the History view (from the article toolbar) and select from the History sidebar a version of the article at the time at which your file/content was still present. Click the revert button to revert to that specific version.

You should now restore exactly that version of the article prior to the data loss.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you!